Street ‘N’ Strip Issue 33

Word Of Pod

The 2020 season is about to get underway here at The Pod! Our Easter weekend extravaganza, Festival of Power, marks the beginning of the European Drag Racing season, kicking off the National Championships as racers on two and four wheels prepare for serious competition over the weekend of April 10th-12th. Leading the way, the colorful and unruly Pro Mods take on the first round of the MSA British Drag Racing Championship, whilst Nitro Funny Cars will be out in force for Round 1 of the European Funny Car Series. Plus, your first chance to experience the unmistakable sights, sounds and smells of 300mph Nitro guzzling Top Fuel Dragsters awaits; be sure to witness this breathtaking spectacle this Easter out on the quarter mile.

Joining Firestorm and Split Second, we have three jets from the FireForce stable out on track; the only occasion in Europe when these fire-breathing monsters can be seen competing side-by-side. If that’s not enough flame throwing fun for you, over in the Live Action Arena Hervé Franquin’s Peugeot-bodied Jet Car will be warming up the crowds alongside Monster Truck Mayhem from Podzilla and Swamp Thing, drifting displays from Maltese masters, Team Maximum Lock, and stunts galore from Lee Bowers.

The Variety Marquee returns for 2020 with a host of family fun and frolics throughout the day over in the Big Top, whilst Mini Monster Truck Mania and Red Dragon Monster Truck Rides offer the perfect thrill ride for both kids and adults alike, plus much, much more for you to get involved with. So pull into the fast lane this April and head to The Pod for our annual Easter extravaganza!

To view the full line-up, please visit Tickets start at just £22* and kids under 16 go free (Max three per adult)! Book your tickets now at or call 01234 782828.

*Advance price only, booking fees apply.

‘Bourne Again

At the tail end of January, the new management team who are looking to reopen York as Melbourne Raceway held a public meeting near Huddersfield, an open forum for any interested parties to hear their plans and discuss fundraising. Kevin Nicks went along.

“Today I attended a fantastic meeting at Brighouse, near Huddersfield, about the future of Melbourne Raceway and the fundraising, which is over halfway to the £100k needed, with many more pledges for donations over the following few weeks. The meeting itself was well attended, chaired by Trevor from Straightliners, the driving force behind all of this. The landowner, Edward Rowbottom, was there too, and spoke incredibly well, a little about the past, more importantly about the future of this drag racing venue and his desire to have it there. It was evident that Trevor and Edward have a professional approach to making this work. There was tremendous support from all there, too, and any and all questions were answered with openness and honesty.

“The reopening can happen easily, with financial support to get the new surface laid. Initially, it is planned to resurface just over a quarter of a mile for two lanes; an eighth of race surface and an eighth of shutdown area. Then, in the future, if funds allow, they can extend it to the full quarter plus shutdown. There are also plans to resurface the pit area too, but it is necessary to get the track open and running first. For more details, or should you wish to donate to the cause, please see”

Challenge Accepted

For 2020, the Modified 100E Challenge have decided to run a similar points system to last year’s, but there will now be four classes based on ET. These will be 15.99-14.0 seconds, 13.99-12.0 seconds, 11.99 to 10.0 seconds, and <10.0, and means that competitors may end up moving between classes as they progress. As well as these classes, there’ll also be a Sunday dial-in bracket at each event.

You’ll get one point for showing up, one point for making a full pass, a one point bonus for fastest reaction, then points according to your position in your class. This year, there’ll be a £5 participants’ fee per event, which will fund trophies and club equipment. Race dates are as follows, and you can find out more by searching Modified 100E on Facebook. Got a Modified 100E? Why not join in?

  • Round 1 – NSRA Nostalgia Nationals, May 8th-10th
  • Round 2 – Retro Show, June 20th-21st
  • Round 3 – Ford Show, July 4th-5th
  • Round 4 – Mopar Euronationals, July 31st-August 2nd
  • Round 5 – NSRA Hot Rod Drags, September 18th-20th
Outlaw Street Prize Night

The Crown Lodge Hotel, Cambridgeshire / November 9th, 2019

Words: Mark Wallington

The 2019 series finally came to a close in November, when members from across the country descended upon the Cambridgeshire village of Upwell for a weekend of banter with good racing friends, food, excuses for why that new PB didn’t appear, and plans for chasing it in 2020. There was also an evening of trophies and presentations.

As this was Outlaw Street’s 10th birthday celebration, there were a few special presentations to acknowledge those members who’ve been with us from the start, most of whom have raced the same car for the whole 10 years. They were presented with silver hip flasks, engraved with the OS logo and the words ‘A decade of dedication.’ These were: OS1 Mark; OS2 Michelle; OS3 Andy Blackett; OS4 Stephen ‘Badger’ Moule; OS8 Mark Holmes; OS11 Joe Mills; OS13 Stuart Ramsay; OS18 Vic Fisher; OS21 George Bebikan; OS23/28 Simon Paul; OS32 Pete Jackson; and OS37 Chris Richards.

Stealing the 2019 trophy from his own dad by two thousandths of a second, OS99 Tom Semper in his Zetec-powered 100E took the Joe & Co sponsored Fastest Reaction Time award with a 0.0004 RT at round eight. The Fastest 4/6 Cylinder ET prize went to OS28 Simon Paul in his Nissan GTR with 10.43 at 135mph at round six, while OS27 Joe Baxter’s Capri secured the Fastest V8 ET trophy with a magnificent 8.79 at 155mph at round eight.

In the 10 year history of Outlaw Street, no member has ever achieved the Triple – fastest ET, fastest RT and fastest 60ft in one meeting. In 2019, TWO members managed it: Joe Baxter at round three, and Dave Mahoney at round seven. The Hard Luck award goes to whoever has had a tough year, with breakages and set-backs, yet still comes back for more, and this year the prize went to OS74 Arnie Pamment and his Fox Mustang. The Steve ‘Cervini’ Moisey Spirit Of The Outlaw award is given to whoever has worked to support the series and/or other racers and just has the OS spirit; this year, it was OS26 George Ralph.

Then it was time to announce the overall champion and points winners, as follows. We’d like to thank the amazing track staff at Santa Pod and Spitfire Raceway for looking after us all season, and to our sponsors, supporters and followers for an amazing 10th year. We have an even bigger 11th year planned, including an exclusive Outlaw Street track day at Santa Pod along with a full season of race weekends. For more information, and to join in, see or find us on Facebook.

  1. Champion: OS68 David Mahoney, Camaro – 1,102 points
  2. Runner-up: OS27 Joe Baxter, Ford Capri – 1,098
  3. OS66 Pete Lane, Barracuda – 1,074
  4. OS74 Arnie Pamment, Mustang – 1,072
  5. OS69 Gary Semper, Firebird – 1,041
  6. OS93 Nina Coombes, Lexus – 1,025
  7. OS7 Howard Wright, Ranchero – 1,016
  8. OS32 Pete Jackson, ’32 Coupe – 877
  9. OS9 Rob Leyman, Chevy C10 – 858
  10. OS39 Louis Hinds, Chevy C1500 – 832